BJP MP charged with instigating communal violence in UP

communal violence in UP
communal violence in UP
Read Later -

Residence of police officer attacked, public property set aflame

Communal violence erupted in Saharanpur district in Uttar Pradesh on Thursday and the main culprit is none less than the BJP MP, Raghav Lakhanpal.
The district’s Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP), Love Kumar has ordered the filing of an FIR against Lakhanpal and over 500 others for violence, vandalism and attack on the house of the SSP and the district magistrate’s office.

Subscribe to our Hindi TRN

The trigger for the violence was the insistence of Lakhanpal and other local BJP leaders to take their “Ambedkar Shobha Yatra”  through a communally sensitive area for which the police had refused permission.

Read More⇛  “Among all personal laws, Muslim personal laws as most progressive,”

Our Page

No procession has been permitted for the last seven years through Sadak Dudhli, a village with a mixed Muslim and Dalit population on the skirts of Saharanpur city.

communal violence in UP

Emboldened with Yogi Adityanath’s occupation of the chief minister’s chair in the state, rightwing Hindu groups along with local BJP leaders had announced that this year they will take the procession through the village. And they went ahead with their plan despite denial of police permission.

When the police blocked the yatra’s procession through the Muslim area of the village, BJP supporters went on a rampage and attacked the SSP’s residence. The violent mob also allegedly smashed the CCTV cameras and furniture and set public property on fire. In an attempt to bring the situation under control, heavy police bandobust has been put in place throughout Saharanpur city.

Read More⇛  Watch : I am A Muslim, Am I Not A Good Indian? Asks Umar Khalid

“We will not allow Saharanpur to turn into Kashmir,” the BJP MP has reportedly stated.

Republish from SabrangIndia

Share this story with your friends, the truth needs to be told.

You could follow TR News posts either via our Facebook page or by following us on Twitter or by subscribing to our E-mail updates.